Skip to main content

How do I cancel a friend request I accidentally sent on Facebook?

This article will guide you on how to cancel a friend request that you accidentally sent on Facebook...

As you already know, Facebook is a popular social networking site which allows you and other users to send friend requests to others and as a matter of accept friend request from the sender. If there are no friends and friend requests then there would be no Facebook. Facebook is engineered and powered by friendship. About two days ago, Facebook celebrated two billion users with friendship video - - this is to say that Facebook likes it when people sign up and make new friends.

In this particular article we are going to show you how to cancel sent friend request on Facebook because if you exceed the 1000 friends threshold, you may not be able to sent any new friend request again until your friends approve you.

Cancel Facebook friend requests

This post will particularly help you if you've sent a friend request to any unknown person accidentally, you can cancel the request easily using any of the resources provided in this article.

NOTE: Keep in mind that while cancelling the friend request on Facebook, always remember that it will automatically enable the Follow option - - you will automatically become his/her Follower even after you have cancelled the friend request. In order to cancel and also un-follow the person, you need to click to toggle the ‘Following’ to unfollow in order to remove yourself from the person’s ‘Followers’ list.


Watch this video to see how to cancel pending friend requests



If you are not still clear about it, then follow the instructions outlined below to completely cancel all your sent friend requests.

Steps:

  • First, Login to your Facebook account.
  • On the top of your Facebook page, click on the friend icon.


  • At the bottom of the screen, click on view all

  • At the top, click on View Sent Requests




  • Now, you've seen all sent requests - - by the side of each profile you will see "Friend request sent". Tap or click on it. You will the option to cancel friend request. Click on it!


  • Click on Cancel Request to cancel Facebook friend request.


How do I remove or cancel a friend request I sent to someone?


To cancel a friend request you sent:
Click at the top of any Facebook page
Click Find Friends
Click View Sent Requests
Hover over Friend Request Sent next to the request you'd like to cancel
Select Cancel Request > Cancel Request


See also:

How do I delete a friend request?


A friend request that you've received is a pending request until you accept or delete it. If you delete a friend request, the person who sent you the request won't be notified. You can prevent that person from sending you another friend request by blocking them.

To delete a friend request:
Note: If you've reached 1,000 pending friend requests, you won't get any new requests.


Where can I see People You May Know?


People You May Know can appear:
  • On the Find Friends page
  • On your homepage
  • In ad space around the site

How do I change who can add me as a friend on Facebook?

To change who can add you as a friend:
  1. Click from the top right of any Facebook page and click Settings
  2. Click Privacy in the left column
  3. Click Edit next to Who can send you friend requests?
  4. From the dropdown menu, click Everyone or Friends of Friends
To make it easier for your friends to find you on Facebook:
  • Use the first and last name you use in everyday life
  • If people know you by a different name (example: nickname, maiden name), add another name to your account
  • Add your basic info

How do I unfriend or remove a friend?


To unfriend someone:
  • Go to that person's profile
  • Hover over Friends at the top of their profile
  • Select Unfriend
The person you unfriended won't be notified.
If you don't want someone to see your profile, add you as a friend or send you a message, you can block them.

Note: If you unfriend someone, you'll be removed from that person's friends list as well. If you want to be friends with this person again, you'll need to add them as a friend again.

Was this article helpful? Please share it with friends.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

How Do I Log out of My Facebook Account?

How Do I Log out of My Facebook Account? - To login successfully into your Facebook account is easy, what about logging out? It's also very easy too. There are two ways you can logout of Facebook account. The first one is quite simple but the second one will require you to go through Facebook settings before you can fully log out. Now, depending on reasons you want to logout, you might consider to log out a (1) particular device or (2) All devices that has been used to access your Facebook account. How Do I Log out of My Facebook Account? To log out from your current device, simply click on the V-like drop down and select "Logout" at the top right hand corner of your Facebook page. e That's all! Advance Facebook Logout The Where You're Logged In section of your Security and Login Settings shows you a list of devices and browsers that have been used to log in to your Facebook account recently. Each entry includes the date, time and approximate lo...

God is Good Motors Price List, Route and Terminals 2020

God is Good Motors Price List route and terminals for online bookings. The GIGM online booking has been made available for travelers who wish to travel with God is Good Motors .

How to delete faceɓook account permanently

Have you been thinking of how to delete your FaceÉ“ook account permanently? well, this latest Facebook article will be helpful enough to show you what to do in order to remove your account permanently from Facebook forever. Facebook is a distraction to an extent especially if you don't know how to turn off annoying Facebook notifications If you have turn off all notifications including Facebook group notifications , then you should consider temporarily deactivating Facebook to avoid the distractions. However, if you are totally fade up with Facebook, then you should consider to permanently delete your Facebook account . How to Delete Facebook Facebook Temporarily Go to facebook.com Log into your account details Click on the arrow pointing down from the top corner of your home page Select the ‘settings’ option Next, Select ‘security’ option Select ‘deactivate account’ Follow on-screen instructions to complete the steps You can delete your Facebook account...